web analytics

Testimonials

Sign up for my newsletter where I will share publishing tips and tricks, and notify you of my appearances, courses, one-time sessions and more.

Many testimonials can also be found on my LinkedIn page here.

To contact me and to find out about my writing/editing services please go here. My students and clients say that I’m “publishing on steroids,” because once they start working with me they get published fast and furiously in top outlets like The Washington Post, The New York Times, The New York Post, Teen VogueBrain, Child, Quartz, The Guardian and more.

Estelle Erasmus

Newest Testimonials

Holly Munter Koenig,  Executive Director,  American Society of Journalists and Authors (given May 16, 2017)

“For 30 years I’ve worked on every aspect of association conferences. I’ve worked closely with hundreds of volunteer leaders and committees. This year I had the pleasure and tremendous privilege of working with and watching Estelle Erasmus serve as Chair of the ASJA Conference. I have never before worked with a volunteer who had all the skills, the energy, creativity and positive attitude you’d want in a leader. She was so deeply committed to excellence, consistently raising the bar, a true visionary who inspired everyone she came in contact with. Estelle is a force of nature. Not surprising that she has earned tremendous respect from her peers and has thousands of followers on social media. Very early on I realized her skills went way beyond strategy, writing, coaching and editing. Actually she went way beyond the role of a typical volunteer Chair of a committee.  It wasn’t just about committee charges for her, she was a dynamo from ideation to execution and everything in between– keynoting, marketing, collaboration, negotiating, the list goes on.  Estelle has a true gift, a knack for motivating and inspiring and I was very lucky to have that opportunity to see her in action.”

 

Sherry Beck Paprocki, American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) President (given May 15, 2017)

“ASJA will never be able to thank you enough for your great work, boundless energy and awesome focus on the 2017 New York Conference as the Conference Chair. I am so happy that I know you. Your work ethic, savvy team approach and wonderful creativity in curating this event is unmatched, helping ASJA draw more participants than other recent conferences. Thanks for everything you have done.”

Marcelle Soviero, Editor-in-Chief, Brain, Child and Brain, Teen (given May 11, 2017)

“Estelle writes in a vivid, authentic way that is a seamless fit with the tone and quality of the personal essays we publish in Brain, Child Magazine. We love to showcase her work.”

Eileen Reinhard (given May 8, 2017)

“As her name indicates, Estelle Erasmus is a star. I met her at a time when I had lost my job, lost my focus, and lost my faith in myself. Working with Estelle brought me back to life. I had been a print and wire journalist at major international news outlets and had also been a senior broadcast news producer. I thought I did not need a writing coach. I could not have been more wrong. Estelle challenges, pokes and prods, gives you homework, does not allow for self-doubt, and, then, she hands you your career back … better and brighter. She understood exactly how to reinvent my battered wheel and I am now publishing again as well as writing a non-fiction book (with a healthy contract.) None of this would have been possible without Estelle’s razor-sharp editorial guidance and her valuable direction.”

Mehreen Chawla (given May 2, 2017)

“I have worked with Estelle on two pieces: a short story, and an op-ed article. I was very happy with her feedback on both.

“Estelle has a hawk’s eye for detail. She knows what will work, what should be changed, and what you should scrap. With her help, I molded my work into something presentable, something which translated my thoughts well on paper. More important, through Estelle’s teaching, I learned a lot during the process.

The short story Estelle critiqued was shortlisted as one of the judges’ favourites. The op-ed article – my first ever to be acknowledged – was accepted by the New York Times.

I would highly recommend Estelle as a writing coach. She will help your piece stand out from  the multitudes.”

Olga Mecking (given May 2, 2017; earlier testimonial given in 2016)

Working with Estelle is like being in a pitching boot camp. You go in, not knowing what to expect. You work hard, you learn how to pitch and you step up your game. Estelle is always there, working through your pitches, correcting them where necessary, and she gives great advice on your essays and articles.

Then your time with Estelle is over, but somehow, something happens. Your pitches begin to land. Suddenly, you get published all over the Internet. it’s like magic! Working with Estelle was one of the best decisions I made as a writer. I wouldn’t be where I am now (published in the Washington Post, New York Post, and New York Magazine, among others) without her advice.

Testimonials from Editors (New Section)

Paul Smalera, Ideas Editor, Quartz (An Atlantic Publication) (given April 5, 2017)

“Estelle has been a consummately professional writer for Quartz. She sent along relevant, timely pitches, with pertinent research, and was quick to respond to feedback and edits. She made sure her pieces didn’t get lost in the high volume of edits I deal with, and updated me as she saw relevant coverage that made her pieces even more timely. I’d highly recommend working with her, and would be happy to work with her again.”

Richard Eisenberg, Managing Editor and Editor of the Money & Security and Work & Purpose channels at Nextavenue.org (given March 27, 2017)

“Estelle Erasmus has been an excellent writer for Nextavenue.org, the public media site for people 50+. Her articles were well-written and stuffed with service, which is exactly what we hope for at Next Avenue.”

More Testimonials from Students

Julie Fraga (given January 4, 2017; earlier testimonial given  in 2015)

A year and a half ago, I began working with Estelle. At that time, I had only written personal essays and I wondered how I could combine my skills as a psychologist with my love of writing.

With Estelle’s stellar editing and coaching, she helped me to become a health journalist. Since we began working together, I’ve landed bylines in Time, Quartz, Atlantic City Lab, The Guardian, The New York Times, Refinery29, Business Insider and NPR. Estelle is an amazing editor and has a quick eye for helping me to bring my words to life on the page in a way that makes my copy sing. She’s intuitive and quick–two skills that make her a perfect match for me.

I HIGHLY recommend her coaching services–she will take your writing to the next level.

Rebekkah Vineberg Blok (student for my Writer’s Digest Personal Essay Class, given January 3, 2017)

“I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS CLASS HIGHLY ENOUGH! I got so much out of it. If anyone’s on the fence, jump in! I got so much useful feedback. Estelle is a great teacher – gracious, professional and insightful.”

Crystal Duffy (given December 16, 2016)

Estelle Erasmus is an extremely gifted and effective editor, balancing respect for the writer’s voice with a sharp insight on what could be clarified and tightened for a better flow. She knows how to guide the writer to craft beautiful and powerful essays worthy of publication. Estelle was also an instructor for a personal essay writing class through Writer’s Digest. Her feedback was exceptional, detailed and practical. She has a knack for coming up with pithy titles that always make me think, “that sums up my essay perfectly.” It’s been such a pleasure working with her over the past few months and I can’t recommend her enough!

Julie Danis (given October 16, 2016)

Estelle and I had a seven minute speed date at the most recent Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop. In those seven minutes she provided advice, laid out next steps, and broadcast a positive attitude that said, “You can do this and I’ll help.” She is both generous with her contacts and gracious in her advice. You can only benefit from spending time with Estelle. Her background is deep and varied. And she is generally someone I would like to date again!

Milly Dawson (given August 15, 2016)

I met Estelle through a small writers group that she organized and ran, under the auspices of the American Society of Journalists and Authors. Her enthusiasm, high level of expertise, and concern for the progress made by the group members all made the group so valuable. She looked at our pitches, diagnosed their problems and helped us fix them with great insight and clarity. With her guidance, several members of the group succeeded in placing their work with outlets they’d been aspiring to.

If you want to pitch more successfully, reach your writing goals with less angst, and boost your freelance income, you cannot do better than choosing to work with Estelle!

Julianne Chiaet (given July 22, 2016)

Being a freelancer is tough, especially when you feel like you don’t have any guidance. I became a freelancer right out of college, and there were certain lessons I hadn’t learned yet. In just an hour, Estelle explained to me the best way to handle my brand and develop my voice. She helped me define my strengths and explained how to use them to my advantage. She additionally connected me to a community of writers to help support me as I move forward. I highly recommend Estelle as a writing coach. Her advice was invaluable and I finally feel confident that I can survive as a freelance journalist.

Sara Lindberg (Given July 8, 2016)

Working with Estelle has been the best thing I could have done for my writing career. Before I contacted her, I felt like I didn’t have a plan or direction as to what I was doing or where I was going. She helped  me to develop a professional strategy for growth,  focus my energy, finesse my pitches, and narrow my area of expertise to expand on my market.

I sat down to write a pitch the other day, and I kept hearing her voice in my head as I crafted what I wanted to say. After I was done writing that pitch, I went back and compared it to one I had done before working with her and I was shocked at the difference between the two. I now have the confidence to send off a quality pitch and story to many sought after editors and publications. I highly recommend working with Estelle Erasmus for any of your writing needs. She is nothing short of amazing and I am so thankful for the time, energy, and interest she took in my work and helping me become a better writer.

Olga Mecking, The European Mama (Given June 29, 2016)

Working with Estelle has been a great experience. She is very thorough and knowledgeable. Her advice on pitching, writing and publishing is invaluable. She has high expectations of writers and that’s wonderful because it pushes them to work harder and better. It sure did that for me. I notice I think more about my pitches and when I want to edit something I’ve written, I ask myself the questions Estelle asked me about my essays. And she inspired me to reach higher and expect more of myself!

Ania Krasniewska (given June 13, 2016)

“Whether for edits, ideas, or just a touch of humor, Estelle is a valued sparring partner, pushing you to present your best self through the written word. We worked together virtually across time zones, and her advice was clear and relevant. Estelle has been the missing ingredient in my writing; she is as much coach as she is editor and my work is much stronger because of her help.”

Linda Wolff (given May 24, 2016)

Estelle is a talented, creative, and inspiring writer, editor, and teacher. Not only will she lead you to polished perfection, but is equally generous with her knowledge of publications and recommendations of where to best submit your work. She is a pleasure to work with and responds quickly to all inquiries. I highly recommend Estelle for all your writing endeavors!

Rudri Patel (given October 8, 2015)

Estelle is a widely published writer and an insightful editor who offers specific advice on how to shape the narrative arc of your essay. She will push you to consider various angles in your writing to  help improve your essay, as well as offer practical insights to help you become a better writer. With a collaborative effort that speaks to your specific needs, the editing relationship with Estelle provides a safe and comfortable place to further growth in your writing. She helped  shepherd an essay of mine to fruition, and it resulted in being published in a prestigious publication.  I wholeheartedly recommend Estelle’s services. She is a thoughtful, intelligent and thorough editor.

Juli Fraga (given October 1, 2015)

I can’t say enough positive things about working with Estelle! She’s an inspiring and thorough editor and teacher. She’s accessible, reliable and authentic. She has a wonderful eye for details and is an expert word wrangler. She’s helped me polish my prose, inspired me to write new essays and encouraged me along the way. Estelle is also very intuitive and knows how to ‘package’ a piece of writing. She comes up with phrases that help an essay ‘sing’, as well as titles that convey the meaning of your writing. I highly recommend her expertise and knowledge.

Rosann Levy (given April 21, 2012)
President, The Roart Group, Marketer, Founder & Director ConnectMore – Award Winning Author & Inspirational Speaker.

“Estelle Sobel Erasmus edited my memoir It’s Never Too Late To Dance, for which I won an award. I believe her attention to detail and the story line contributed to my winning this prestigious award. She was a pleasure to work with and I highly recommend her.”

Richard Scheinberg (given April 11, 2012)
Director:Sunrise Counseling. Author:”Turning Trauma Into Triumph” and “Seeking Soul Mates, Spirit Guides and Past Lives”

Estelle Sobel Erasmus did the final editing work on my book “Seeking Soul Mates, Spirit Guides, and Past Lives”. Her knowledge of the subject was superb and her editing suggestions were perfect! Her work was also comprehensive and very detailed!

With Ms. Erasmus’s expert help, my book was published and then later honored as a national award finalist SEVEN times! So I am very grateful that Ms. Erasmus was able to play an integral part in the completion of this project!

I would highly recommend Ms. Erasmus to anyone in need of editing assistance-with any type of manuscript!

For My Work as a Speaker/Mentor

Sherry Amatenstein (given June 10, 2016)

“Estelle and I have been colleagues for years and I’ve always known her to be talented, professional, creative and generous and this was borne out when she asked me to take part in the ASJA 2016 panel she moderated on Being a Writing Coach. The panelists and attendees alike benefited from her years of experience and right-on tips.”

Anne Paris
Managing Partner Midlife Boulevard   (Given May 20, 2016)

“Estelle spoke at our conference, BAM—Bloggers At Midlife in April 2016 on “The Art of Writing and Placing a Personal Essay”. Her session was highly rated and very favorably received by attendees. Estelle was extremely professional, and her presentation was perfectly tailored for our audience. She was a big hit and I’d invite her to speak any time. She’s a pro!”

Julie Ross Godar
Executive Editorial Director, SheKnows (Given February 2, 2016)

I’ve worked with thousands of writers as the Executive Editorial Director for SheKnows, and Estelle is one of the most talented people I’ve worked with. As a writer, she’s personal, lyrical and concise: a dream, in other words, and I’m proud to have her as a member of the SheKnows Experts community.

I also had the pleasure of being a co-panelist with Estelle at #BlogHer15. We spoke about how editors think and work, and how writers can apply their techniques to their own pieces. Estelle was generous with her considerable knowledge, and I was particularly struck by her teaching ability. She brought examples of writing that conveyed her points and read them out loud, so the audience could hear and absorb what she meant. I think this illustrative of her approach as an editor, and I’d consider anyone who wrote for or learned from her to be lucky, indeed.

Susan Lee Maccarelli (given September 21, 2015)
Founder, Beyond Your Blog

I spoke on a panel about editors and editing at BlogHer ’15 with Estelle, and wanted to take notes right along with the audience! Estelle’s depth and breadth of editing experience along with her expertise crafting publish-worthy essays and stories, makes her an extremely valuable resource to bloggers and writers looking to take their writing to the next level online and in print. I regularly recommend her editing services to writers who are in search of a seasoned editor/coach to help with a writing project.

Meredith Spidel (given August  7, 2015)
Executive Vice President/Operations Manager of the BlogU Conference

Estelle not only brought a valuable skill set and knowledge to our blogging conference, she did it in such a personable and professional way that everyone who took her class was singing her praises! We would love to work with Estelle again and can’t say enough about what a superb session leader she was!

Wendy Cray Kaufman (given January 6, 2015)
Freelance Journalist, Copywriter
Blog Owner, ABCs and Garden Peas

I met Estelle at iRetreat14, which was one of my very first conferences. Much like her writing, she was accessible and relatable, giving just the type of strategic advice I needed as a writer entering a new phase of my career. It’s so refreshing to find a willing mentor in such a competitive field, and I have been able to put her wisdom to work and open doors I never would have found otherwise.

Estelle’s experience and writing expertise, along with her knack for staying on top of current trends, give her a unique edge. You can bet that when I see her name on a project, I pay attention!

Cissy Mecca (given December 14, 2014)                                                      Co-Owner Double Duty Divas, host of iRetreat

As the co-owner of Double Duty Divas who have hosted iRetreat, a conference for brands and bloggers, sincne 2009, I was delighted to ask Estelle to be a speaker at iRetreat 2014 at Hershey Lodge. Estelle’s topic was “Getting Published in a Crowded Marketplace” and the feedback from her talk was extremely positive. Using twenty-five years of publishing experience as a journalist, author and former magazine editor-in-chief as well as social media influencer and blogger, she detailed how to get published via traditional publishing channels and self-publishing.

Estelle shared her own and several of her colleagues’ experience on how to find an agent, self-publish, get noticed by a publishing house, build a community and establish credibility. Likely influencers who attended her session are implementing what they learned: getting an agent, writing a book, contributing to an anthology, building their platform, or taking a course. I highly recommend Estelle as a speaker on publishing and the media.

Gina Badalaty (given July 11, 2014)
Owner, Mom-Blog

Recently, I attended iRetreat 2014 and attended the workshop “Getting Published in a Crowded Workplace” by Estelle Erasmus. As a long time blogger and an aspiring author, I was really looking forward to this session and it did not disappoint. Estelle shared sound advice and strategies on critical topics, such as the different avenues of publishing, getting an agent, how to get support for your work, where to find opportunities to write, how to establish your credibility and more. This single session made iRetreat worth it for me, and I am now busy implementing what I learned from Estelle as I write my first ebook.

For My Work as a Social Media Influencer 

Susan Carraretto (given January 7, 2015)
Owner, 5 Minutes For Mom

I met Estelle when she was president of the board for Mothers & More. She wrote a post for 5 Minutes for Mom, and asked me to be a judge for the Power Of a Purse Writing contest. Estelle is a wonderful, relatable writer and connector. I’ve also watched Estelle’s social media influence and impact grow exponentially over the past few years and was delighted to have her join 5 Minutes for Mom Twitter party as a guest panelist. I highly recommend working with Estelle as a writer, or in any social media capacity.

For my work as a Journalist and Editor

Kathy Radigan (given March  7, 2015)
Owner,
 my dishwasher’s possessed

I had the pleasure of meeting Estelle through an online writers group and found her writing inviting and inspiring. I was thrilled when she agreed to  have me  interview  her on my site, my dishwasher’s possessed, and even more thrilled to work with her on an article for Elephant Journal.

Her years as a journalist and editor are so apparent when working with her. She is a complete professional who helped me to raise my  game. I hope to work with her again soon.

Carla Stanmyre McDonald (given July 29, 2014)
Founder and Editorial Director at The Salonniere

I have known Estelle for more than 15 years and have always held her journalistic and writing skills in high regard. She is a strategic thinker, a detailed and nuanced writer and a stellar editor who understands what is newsworthy and appreciates deadlines. These skills, along with her creativity and integrity, make her an invaluable asset for public relations professionals. I have hired Estelle to write press releases and articles for our clients at Dynabrand and was always very pleased with the results. I highly recommend Estelle as a writer, editor and creative thinker.

AskDoctorG.com Deborah Gilboa, MD (given July 13, 2014)
International Parenting Speaker, Founder AskDoctorG.com

Estelle is a connection-maker. As the past Board President of Mothers and More, she keeps a running catalog of who she knows and who they need to meet! She connected me to her organization, and to so many great women who have moved my business – and my life – forward.

Estelle is a news-maker. As a journalist she sees behind the story and asks the questions I as a reader want to ask. She has the gift of making me feel as satisfied as if I sat in the room or experienced the event myself!

Estelle is a future-changer. This is a woman you want to know, and I feel very lucky to have met and worked with her myself.

Erik Wander (given April 15, 2012)
Content Manager, Sports, News & Autos at About.com

Estelle wrote a weekly “Mom’s Talk: Q&A column,” as well as other stories, on Patch. Estelle is a bright, creative writer with a reader-friendly style and bountiful ideas. She also demonstrates great vision and a remarkable attention to detail. Estelle was resourceful, researched the information in her columns thoroughly and packaged them for maximum impact. It was real pleasure working with her as an editor, in large part because she made my job so easy. She is a true professional and a joy to work with. I highly recommend Estelle as a columnist or writer for any online or print publication.

Mary McConville (given April 5, 2012)
Owner, Tears of Joy Photography

I have been providing photos to Estelle to visually support her parenting column on AOL/Patch. Estelle is a thoughtful, effective, diligent, resourceful and highly professional editor who has a vision of what she wants in a photo, communicates it clearly and implements it immediately.

Her breezy, informational writing style is a wonderful counterpart to her serious business mindset. She provides feedback immediately as well as appreciation for my “eye”. I highly recommend working with Estelle in any creative or business capacity.

Cheryl Whitman (given November 21, 2011)
Founder at Beautiful Forever Aesthetic Consulting

Estelle is a good writer, researcher, editor & columnist. She has covered all aspects of the beauty industry including aesthetics, dermatology, spas, medi-spas and skincare. I have had the pleasure of working on beauty booklets and medi-spa articles over the last decade with Estelle and highly recommend her work!

Anne Lebleboojian (given April 12, 2011)
Freelance Art Supervisor, Cline Davis Mann

I had the pleasure of working with Estelle while at Montage Media, where she was the editor of a medical publishing co. I worked with her on a magazine i was designing called Esthetique. We collaborated together on the various issues of the book. I found her to be extremely knowledgeable and dedicated individual. Above all, she made the experience of working with her most enjoyable. I would highly recommend her as an Editor.

For my work as President, Mothers & More

Lisa Blackwell  (given July 27, 2014)                                                         Current President, Mothers & More); Clinical Review Psychologist at New York State

Estelle has been an instrumental force in the changes that have taken place within Mothers & More since she has been on the board of directors, and during her tenure as board president. Her vision has guided the board and moved us forward exponentially. I have enjoyed working with her and the rest of the board as she increased the reach of our social media, created our first advisory council, hired our Executive Director, and generously shared her connections with influential people in business and media for the betterment of Mothers & More. Estelle is a leader, a writer, a social media expert, an influencer, and a voice of support for women and mothers.

Aliza Sherman (given July 12, 2014)
Web Pioneer, Author, Public Speaker, Digital Marketer

I’ve known and admired Estelle’s work for years, from her extensive publishing to the leadership she exemplified as she strengthened Mothers & More by assembling a powerhouse advisory council. Under her leadership on the Board and as Board President, I’ve watched the organization grow and thrive. Estelle is capable, determined and fair in her dealings.

Tara Brettholtz (given April 11, 2012)
Quality Control & Training Officer

Estelle possesses a wonderful combination of personal and professional attributes that will be of tremendous value to any organization, as they have been to Mothers & More. As a chapter member of Mothers & More, Estelle was able to implement our signature “Power of a Purse” program in her community and she engaged the support of many people to provide new purses and financial literacy awareness to women in poverty. Once Estelle officially joined the Board of Directors, she started adding value right away. Her experience as a writer and publisher was invaluable in helping us launch our blog, Mothers’ Voices. Estelle is also a very good critical thinker, and was able to uncover an insurance billing error that was costing our organization thousands of dollars per year.

Recently, Estelle’s role in the NY show “Listen to Your Mother” has helped Mothers & More to continue to build important connections with other woman and organizations in our advocacy community. I also selected Estelle among many other highly-qualified women to serve in my place as a keynote speaker at an international mothers’ conference called “What Mothers Want” in Toronto, Canada, which will take place in May of 2012. Estelle was the natural choice because she is motivated by her heart, but she has an amazing mind to back it up. She is a wonderful writer and communicator, and she eagerly accepted this role and the responsibility that goes along with it to build, protect and preserve the critical connections that Mothers & More and its leaders have established over more than a quarter-century. I am confident that she will bring this same passion and energy to any role she chooses for herself in the future.

Mei Sin Kong (given March 30, 2012)
Owner at Green Kids Closet, a children & maternity consignment sales company.

Estelle is a huge advocate for women-owned businesses and mothers. She supported my new endeavor with her ideas, strategic guidance, writing and editing, and social media marketing. She is highly creative and collaborative, and I’m glad to have her in my corner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This